South Carolina Council on Competitiveness’ TransformSC Network Welcomes Calhoun County School District Elementary Schools

(Columbia, SC) Calhoun County School District’s two elementary schools – Sandy Run K-8 and St. Matthews K-8 – are the newest additions to the TransformSC network.

TransformSC, an initiative of the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness (the Council), is a statewide network of innovative public schools that work in collaboration with business leaders, educators, students, parents, and policymakers in order to transform South Carolina’s public education system to prepare graduates for careers, college, and citizenship. The addition of the two schools brings the total number of TransformSC network schools to 71. The network also has seven entire school districts.

Dr. Peggy Torrey, Director of TransformSC, said that the two schools have worked hard to demonstrate their commitment to TransformSC’s mission.

“TransformSC was founded on the principle that transformation in education should impact every student and every teacher in every classroom every day.  Our rigorous application process requires schools to show that they’ve embraced that philosophy and have transformative education strategies in place. Sandy Run K-8 and St. Matthews K-8 have both shown that they have implemented an innovative approach to educating students and we’re excited to have them on board to share that innovation with our network.”

Ms. Brenda Goodwin, Principal of Sandy Run K-8 School noted that innovative teaching strategies have become a cornerstone of her school’s tenets, saying “We believe that remaining the epicenter for transforming learning will ensure the future of our students occurs one day at a time, through project based learning and personalized plans.”

The Principal of St. Matthews K-8, Treda L. Keith, anticipates that her school’s involvement with TransformSC will build on strategies they have already implemented. “The TransformSC network gives our school opportunities to improve our children’s tomorrows through personalized learning today.”

Susie Shannon, President & CEO of the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness, said that the addition of Sandy Run K-8 and St. Matthews K-8 to the TransformSC network speaks to the value of the network and the innovative education practices that network schools implement. “As the network continues to grow, we see the TransformSC network schools prove time and again that innovation in education can be impactful anywhere there are advocates willing to invest in implementation and leaders willing to be an agent of change for our students. The end results benefit our students, our businesses, and our state as a whole.”

To learn more about TransformSC, visit Schools at all levels and stages of development are encouraged to apply for acceptance to the TransformSC network by contacting Dr. Peggy Torrey at


About the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness

The South Carolina Council on Competitiveness – The Council – is a nonpartisan, business-led, nonprofit organization that drives South Carolina’s long-term economic growth through managing select industry clusters and providing the research, network, and resources that clusters require to thrive. Led by President and CEO, Susie Shannon, the Council manages multiple initiatives and industry clusters in South Carolina including SC Aerospace, SC Logistics, TechSC, SC CyberAlley, and TransformSC.  It also provides resources and support to other clusters and initiatives across the state.

Back to Resources & Learning