Charleston Women in International Trade Announces 2020 Woman of the Year

Suzanne joined the SC Council on Competitiveness in 2016 after serving for 8 years as the Director for International Business Development at Clemson University’s International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR). Suzanne’s experience includes 20 years in the automotive industry: 12 years within BMW working in the fields of corporate sustainability, innovation management and long-term strategic and structural planning.

She began her career with BMW in Munich Germany at corporate headquarters upon completion of the Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship Program. Suzanne speaks fluent German and is also a Fellow of the BMW Foundation Responsible Leaders Forum.

Suzanne serves as a Founding Board Member of the multi-state Southern Automotive Women’s Forum and is a Board Member of the South Carolina Automotive Council. In her local community of the Upstate of South Carolina, Suzanne is a Fellow of the Furman University Riley Institute Diversity Leadership Program and co-chairs a Ten at the Top Task Force for the Connecting our Future initiative.

In 2013, the South Carolina Research Authority awarded Suzanne with the Knowledge Economist Award and in 2015, Suzanne was the recipient of the Clemson Women in Leadership Award.  In 2018, Suzanne joined the SC Manufacturers Extension Partnership Board. She is also a member of the 2018-2019 Port Ambassador class, an exclusive program implemented by the South Carolina Ports Authority.

Past recipients of this prestigious award include Betsy Burton (Premier Logistics, 2019), Adriane Malanos Belton, (Mercedes-Benz Vans, 2018), Jessica Sage (Carolina’s Rigging & Crane and Charleston’s Rigging & Marine Hardware, 2017), Anita Zucker (Chairwoman and CEO of The InterTech Group, 2016), Elizabeth “Liz” Brabham (Wando Trucking, 2015), Barbara Melvin (SC Ports Authority, 2014), Pam Zaresk (Maritime Association of SC, 2013), Christian MacIver (MeadWestvaco, 2012), and Elizabeth Colbert-Busch (Clemson University Restoration Institute, 2011).

Ms. Dickerson will be honored at CWIT’s 18th annual meeting, the Charleston Soirée, on Tuesday, April 21, 2020 at Founders Hall, Charles Towne Landing.
There are several sponsorship opportunities and individual tickets may be purchased online for $75.00. Cocktails, networking and Charleston Entertainment’s Classical String Duet will start at 6:00 pm and the dinner program will follow at 7:00 pm.

Back to Resources & Learning